Breaking News:-

JU Law School lifts Veeranna Aivalli Memorial Debate Competition Trophy

JAMMU: Indian Institute of Public Administration, J&K Regional Branch and J&K Police in collaboration with Department of Students Welfare, University of Jammu, organized the 21st Annual Veeranna Aivalli Memorial Debate Competition on the topic "In the opinion of the house, pre-poll freebies is a misuse of taxpayers money and hampers the financial sustainability".

A total of 34 teams from various affiliated colleges and University teaching departments and other Universities and Institutions of the region participated in the competition.

The team from The Law School comprising of Aditya Mahajan and Anshika Gandhi lifted the Veeranna Aivalli Running team trophy.

The individual first prize was won by Irtiqa Tariq from Jammu College of Physiotherapy while Kritika Sharma from Department of Political Science bagged the second prize followed by Akshita Sharma from Department of Zoology, JU as the winner of third prize.

The consolation prizes were won by Aditya Mahajan (The Law School), Arshpreet Kaur Sudan, Cluster University of Jammu and Ananya Singh Sudan from School of Biotechnology, JU.

Dilbag Singh, Director General of J&K Police was the chief guest of the occasion while Prof Umesh Rai, Vice-Chancellor, University of Jammu, was the guest of honor.

B R Sharma, Chairman of IIPA, J&K Regional Branch and Dr Ashok Bhan, Patron of IIPA, J&K Regional Branch also attended the prize distribution function. Girish Aivalli also joined the event.

Dilbag Singh, while remembering the services of Late Aivalli to the Police Department, congratulated IIPA JK Regional Branch for consistently organizing the debate competition in his memory. He said that the role of police with the active support of the civil society has created conducive and peaceful environment in the region. He said JK Police is keen to engage with the youth and support positive activities form such events.

Prof Umesh Rai, in his address, highlighted the new changes which University of Jammu has initiated thus allowing an active interaction with the public experts from diverse domains in the academic pursuits.

B R Sharma, Dr Ashok Bhan, Prof Prakash Chand Antahal, Er J B S Johar and K B Jandial also spoke on the occasion. Prof Alka Sharma presented the formal welcome address while Dr Anil Gupta conducted the proceedings.

The adjudicators for the debate competition were Naveen Chopra, Sanjeev Sharma, and Dr Komal Nagar. The rapporteur of the event was Swati Vijay. The debate was anchored by Insha Dawood and Dr Hema Gandotra while Dr Raj Sandhu was Teacher In Charge (Debate.



Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News