Breaking News:-

Secularism bedrock of NC, says Omar Abdullah

JAMMU: Asserting that secularism is the bedrock of the National Conference, Vice President Omar Abdullah today said this political philosophy of the party has survived the vicissitudes of history.

Leading the National Conference functionaries and prominent workers in paying tribute to former MLA and senior leader Thakur Rachpal Singh during online virtual condolence meeting held this afternoon, Omar Abdullah said the late leader remained at the forefront all his political career to strengthen the secular bonds as cherished by Sher-e-Kashmir Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah

"Thakur Sahib believed in the political philosophy of the National Conference which is based on the rich ethos of inclusiveness, camaraderie and spirit of sacrifice", the Vice President said while describing the late leader as an inspiration for younger generation because of his rich political acumen and experience spanning decades, commitment to secularism, steadfastness and sobriety.

Omar Abdullah said Thakur Sahib played a key role in strengthening the party at grass roots level and worked all along for betterment of the people in various capacities. He has left an indelible mark of public service and worked for harmonious growth of the society based on the cherished agenda of amity and brotherhood. Thakur Sahib will be remembered for upholding the secular values and withstanding for the unity and tranquility in Jammu and Kashmir by braving all odds, he added.

Th Rachpal Singh breathed his last on September 07 after a brief illness this morning at Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Narayana Super Specialty Hospital, Kakrayal here, leaving behind his wife, son and two daughters.

The virtual conference began with the observance of two-minute silence as a mark of the late leader.

In his tribute to Thakur Rachpal Singh, General Secretary Ali Mohammed Sagar said that he will always be remembered for his tireless contribution in ameliorating the lot of peasants, labour fraternity, weaker sections and downtrodden people of Jammu and Kashmir in general and Rajouri-Poonch belt in particular. He said his selfless service will remain a guiding force and inspiration for the younger generation of National Conference cadres. In his death, the party has lost a dedicated, sincere and hardworking leader whose role in strengthening the bonds of amity and brotherhood between various segments of society, he added.

Provincial President Devender Singh Rana remembered Th Rachpal Singh for his qualities of head and heart, saying public good was the mission of his life. He recalled his services to the people of Jammu and Kashmir in general and Rajouri district in particular, saying his departure has left a big vacuum in the party which is hard to be filled.

Other senior National Conference leaders also paid tribute to Th. Rachpal Singh, describing him as a leader par excellence, saying he will be remembered for his qualities as a seasoned politician and a gentleman, who strived hard for progress and development of his constituency besides strengthening the party at grass roots level. They included Ajay Kumar Sadhotra, Surjeet Singh Salathia, Rattan Lal Gupta, Syed Mushtaq Ahmed Bukhari, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed, Sajjad Kitchloo, Th. Kashmira Singh, Abdul Gani Malik, Babu Rampal, Jagjeevan Lal Ajaz Jan, Qazi Jalal Ud Din, Mirza Abdul Rashid, Sheikh Abdul Rehman, Dr. Chamanl Lal Bhagat, T.S Wazir, Haji Mohd Hussain, Brij Mohan Sharma, Bimla Luthra, Satwant Kour Dogra, Swaran Latta, Prem Sagar Aziz, , Bushan Lal Bhat, Jugal Mahajan, Master Noor Hussain, Iqbal Bhat, Ch. Rahim Daad, Dhian Chand, Vijay Lochan , Abdul Gani Teli, Ch. Haroon, Mohinder Singh, Anil Dhar, Gurdeep Singh Sasan, Vipan Pal Sharma, Ch. Liaquat Ali, Dr. Gagan Bhagat, Ch. Mohammad Shafi, Chander Mohan Sharma, Sajjad Shaheen, Pardeep Bali, Vijay Laxami Dutta, Dharamveer Singh Jamwal, Mohinder Gupta, Dr Shamshad Shan, Bhushan Uppal, Romy Khajuria, Som Nath Khajuria, Naresh Bittu, Shafayat Khan, Bagh Hussain Rathore, Reeta Gupta, Ch. Nazir Hussain, Shafqat Mir, Ch. Wali Daad, Ch. Arshad, S.S Bunty, G.H Malik, Israr Khan, S. Sucha Singh, Ashok Singh Manhas and others .

Prominent among those who paid tributes to Thakur Sahib included Bushan Uppal, District President Rajouri, Rameshwar Singh, his brother. Ashok Kumar Block President Kalakote, Parshotam Lal Block President Moghla, Rattan Lal Padha Block President Dharamsal, Tafal Ahmed Block President Chingus, Bansi Lal Block President Dhangri, Manzoor Malik Distt Vice President, Kala Shah Block President Gia Bas, Ashok Kumar Distt Office Secretary, Vivek Sharma Block Youth President Kalakote, Deep Sharma City President Kalakote, Rajeev Sharma Distt Media Incharge. Sulekha Kotwal BDC Chairman Moghla, Maqbool Hussain Block Chairman, Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Sharma Distt Youth Vice President, Farooq Katan Halqa President NC, Thakur Nater Singh, Rohit Sasan and others.

Provincial Youth National Conference Vice President and son of the late leader, Yashu Vardhan Singh expressed his gratitude to Omar Abdullah and other senior leaders for their solidarity during the bereavement of the family.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News