District Chess Championship organised

POONCH: District Poonch Chess Association conducted District Chess Championship under the ageis of J&K Chess Association and sponsored by J&K Sports Council at Modern Public Academy, here.

Mohd Qasim, DYSSO Poonch was the chief guest, whereas Amresh Kumar (PEM) and Jasbir Singh (PEM) were guests of honour. Sanjeev Sharma Principal of the hosting School, Narinder Kumar, Sunil Raina and Mukesh Kumar (PET) also graced the function.

Vikas Sharma was the organising secretary of the championship while Vijay Kumar was convenor of the event.

About 66 players of different age groups were participated in the competition.

In sub-junior category, top three positions were bagged by Tanish Sudan, Ramandeep Singh and Ayaan Kumar respectively, whereas in junior category, Abhey Sudan, Mohd Junaid and Sohail Hussain clinched top three positions and in senior category, Abhinav Dabur, Sohail Ahmed and Deepankar Dutta stood 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively besides in girls junior category, Ananya Sharma and Nandani Raina clinched top two positions.

The matches were officiated by technical panel including Abhinav, Vikas, Karan and Mukesh Kumar



Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.