Breaking News:-

DSW, JU organises Painting, Essay Writing and Declamation contests in connection with ‘Gandhi Jayanti'

JAMMU: In commemoration of ‘Gandhi Jayanti', the Department of Students Welfare, University of Jammu, under the guidance of Prof. Umesh Rai, Vice-Chancellor organized On the Spot Painting, Essay Writing and Declamation contests for the students of affiliated colleges and teaching departments of University of Jammu.

Around 110 students from different districts of Jammu province participated in these events and expressed their creativity and intellect.

The winners were felicitated in presence of the Adjudicators alongwith Prof. Prakash Antahal (Dean Students Welfare) Prof. Vishav Raksha (Chairperson, Campus Cultural Committee), Prof. K.S. Charak, Dr. A.R. Manhas & Dr, Shallu Sharma (Deputy Proctors), Dr. Hema Gandotra and Mansi Mantoo.

In On the Spot Painting competition, participants were given topics, ‘Gandhi & Khadi' and ‘Indian Freedom Movement'. Abhinav Dabur from GDC Poonch was declared First, Umar Hasan Qazi from GDC Surankote secured Second position and Mohit Verma from GDC Kathua secured Third position.

Certificates of Merit were awarded to Anurag Tayagi from Department of Geology, JU and Mamta from Dept. of Library & Information Science, JU. Dr. Sanjay Sharma and Sh. Mahesh Kumar Sharma were the adjudicators and Dr. Saloni Devi was the Teacher Incharge of the event.

In Essay Writing competition, participants were given the topics, ‘Gandhi Ji's contribution to Indian Freedom Movement' and ‘Relevance of Gandhi in Contemporary World'. The result of the same will be declared next week.

The topic of the Declamation Contest was ‘Relevance of Truth and Non-Violence in Today's Society'. Anamika Bali from GDC Poonch, Shahzaib Ahmed Mughal from GDC Surankote and Adil Rouf Khan from GDC Thannamandi were declared First, Second and Third respectively. Certificates of Merit were awarded to Vishal Roudan from GDC Udhampur, Muskan from GDC Kathua (Women) and Amandeep Singh from GDC Udhampur.

Prof. Chanchal Dogra and Prof. Indu Kilam were the adjudicators and Dr. Hema Gandotra was the Teacher Incharge of the event.

The events of DSW are organized by the team consisting of Prof. Prakash Antahal, Prof. Vishav Raksha, Prof. Sanjana Kaul (Co-Chairperson, Campus Cultural Committee), Dr. Anil Gupta (Associate Dean SW) Dr. Garima Gupta and Dr. Pritam Singh (Assistant Deans, SW), Dr. A.R. Manhas & Dr. Shallu Sharma (Deputy Proctors), members of Campus Cultural Committee, Mansi Mantoo and Sumeet Sharma.

The Hall Management was looked after by Arif Paul, Mehak, Preeti, Tahira Kulsoom, Tabassum Ara, Nazia Parveen, Harmeet Kaur and Punchok Angmo.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News