Breaking News:-

Parliament Winter Session: Rahul Gandhi meets 12 RS MPs protesting against their suspension

NEW DELHI: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Thursday met the 12 Rajya Sabha MPs from the opposition parties who were suspended from the ongoing winter session of Parliament.

The 12 suspended MPs sat on 'dharna' (sit-in demonstration) demanding revocation of their suspension from the House during the Winter session of the Parliament.

The Wayanad MP also staged a protest at the Gandhi statue inside Parliament premises on Wednesday demanding revocation of the suspension.

As many as 12 MPs from the opposition parties were suspended from Parliament's winter session for allegedly creating ruckus on the last day of the Monsoon Session.

The suspension came after Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Pralhad Joshi on Monday wrote a letter to Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu, who is the Vice President, for shocking violence on the last day of the Monsoon Session.

The suspended MPs include six from Congress, two each from TMC and Shiv Sena and one each from CPM and CPI.

The action has been taken against them for the 'indiscipline' in the monsoon session of the House.

The suspended MPs are Elamaram Kareem (CPM), Phulo Devi Netam, Chhaya Verma, R Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain and Akhilesh Prasad Singh of the Congress, Binoy Viswam of CPI, Dola Sen and Shanta Chhetri of Trinamool Congress, Priyanka Chaturvedi and Anil Desai of Shiv Sena.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.