Breaking News:-

Institution of Engineers celebrates 54th Engineers' Day

JAMMU: The Institution of Engineers (India), Jammu Local Centre celebrated 54th Engineers' Day today at its Institutional Complex, Channi Himmat, Jammu.

It was attended by the engineers from various departments and organizations physically within the ambit of Covid-19 restrictions and was also join by large number of engineers online. This day is celebrated all over the country on 15th September to commemorate the birth anniversary of the greatest engineer of India "Bharat Ratna, Sir Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya".

Er. B.B. Sharma, FIE Former Chairman, IEI, Jammu Centre was the Chief Guest and chaired the function. In addition to this the function was presided over by Dr. Sanjay Khar, FIE; Chairman IEI Jammu Centre.

The proceedings started with garlanding of the bust of Sir. M. Visvesvaraya. Dr. Sanjay Khar, FIE, Chairman of IEI, Jammu Local Centre presented the Welcome Address. He also deliberated on the theme "Engineers for Skill Development & Employment in combating COVID" of 54th Engineers' Day and highlighting the activities undertaken by the IEI Jammu Local Centre.

Rich Tributes were paid to Bharat Ratna Sir M. Visvesvaraya by Er. Anik Gutpa,FIE. He also highlighted the lifelong achievements, sterling qualities, austerity, integrity, competence and discipline of the greatest icon of engineering profession.

Further, on the occasion, the Chief Guest honoured Er. V. N. Sharma, FIE; with IEI AWARD for the year 2021 for his life time achievements on the engineering profession. Er. V. N. Sharma Chief Engineer (Retd.), has also been a Non-Official Member of Regional Empowered Committee for Northern Region Chandigarh, Union Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change covering the states of Haryana, Punjab & Union Territory of Chandigarh for two terms i.e. 2014-16 & 2016-18.
The Chief Guest also honoured Er. B. L. Rawal, MIE with D. K. GUPTA ENGINEER OF THE YEAR award for the year 2021 for his life time achievements to the engineering profession. Er. B. L. Rawal, Retired Executive Engineer & Former Honorary Secretary, IEI, Jammu Centre.

Er. Vijay Kumar Sharma & Er. Sachin Tickoo were awarded with R. L. Sharma Memorial Gold Medal for presenting the Best Technical Paper, Er. Vinod Kumar & Er. P. K Nanda, MIE were awarded with Rudra Bhagwati Silver Medal for presenting 2nd best technical paper and IEI Bronze Medal was presented to Er Anil Verma, MIE & Er. Vinod Kumar, MIE for presenting 3rd best technical paper for the year 2020 & 2021 respectively.

On the occasion 1st issue of 19th Volume of quarterly News Letter ‘IEI Jammu News' was also released by the Chief Guest along with members of Editorial Board Er. Sanjay Khar, FIE; Er. Anik Gupta, FIE; Er. Samir Sharma, MIE; Er. Ajay Sharma, MIE; Er, Sunl Seth,MIE & Er. C P Sharma, MIE.

Chief Guest also honoured Er. S. C. Thukral, FIE; Er. P. K. Nanda, MIE; Er. B. L. Rawal, MIE; Er. Anil Verma, MIE; Er. Vinod Kumar, MIE; Er. Ranjeev Sawhney, MIE; Er. Mir Muneer Hussain, MIE and Er. Akash Dusgotra, AMIE with mementoes for presenting two or more technical papers during the year 2019 - 20 & 2020- 21.

Er. B. B. Sharma, Chief Guest desired that the Government must think of providing a fixed tenure to Chief Engineers as the infrastructure project have a long gestation period. Chief Engineers who achieve the targets and show the required ability need to be encouraged and after all Er. E. Shreedharan, the famed Metro Man did not choose himself. His retention in positions of authority resulted in expeditious delivery of a number of milestone projects for the county.

Er. C P Sharma, MIE; Honorary Secretary, IEI Jammu Local Centre conducted the proceedings and presented Vote of Thanks to the august gathering present on the occasion.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.