Breaking News:-

J&K Boxing Championship commences at MA Stadium

JAMMU: The J&K UT Boxing Championship, organised by J&K Amateur Boxing Association and sponsored by J&K Sports Council (JKSC), started under the aegis of Boxing Federation of India and J&K Olympic Association (JKOA) at Boxing Arena, MA Stadium, here.

The opening day witnessed preliminary rounds of the competition in senior group. The event was declared open by Chief Accounts Officer (CAO) of the J&K Sports Council, Jaffar Iqbal.

Seniors boxers including Arun Kotwal, Vinay Gupta, Daljit Singh and Ramesh Chander Soodan were among special guests while president JKOA, Dr Ashutosh Sharma; Divisional Sports Officer, Ashok Singh; Manager Indoor Complex, Satish Gupta; Sharat Chander Singh; SS Gill; Ravi Salgotra; Shiv Paul Sharma, Farooq Ahmed (Srinagar) and Vishwamitter graced the occasion to encourage the boxers.

The technical penal comprised Anil Wadhera, Khalida Bano, Sajjad Pathan, Aman Sangral, Vishwajeet Singh, Gautam Sharma, Rajneesh, Naresh Kumar, Farooq Ahmed and Harinder Pal.

Earlier, general secretary of the Association, Rajan Sharma welcomed the distinguished guests and presented a detailed report of the three-day championship.

In men seniors quarterfinals (46-49 kg), Shubam Sharma got walkover Vishal Sharma, whereas in 49-52 kg, Akash Sharma (Jammu) got walkover Ajay Singh whereas Akash Kumar beat Akash Sharma and in 52-57 kg, Naveen Sharma (Jammu) trounced Kamal Shama (Jammu), whereas Gurjant (Jammu) defeated Bittu (Jammu), Ankush Gangla got better of Deepak Kumar and Satish Chauhan beat Ayush Bhat besides in 57-60 kg, Aman Bhau (JU) beat Danish Kumar, while Anil Kumar (Jammu) defeated Manhesh Kumar, and Rahul Kumar trounced Vikrant Manhas.

In 60-64 kg, Satyam Khajuria (Jammu) got walkover Manav Manzoor whereas in 49-52 kg, Tarun Singh trounced Saleem; Gagandeep Singh defeated Shamus Din and Mayank Chettri beat Dhiraj Sharma, while in 60-63 kg, Sandeep Singh beat Rahul Sharma and 63-69 kg, Rajesh Charak (JKP) got better of Sohail Ahmed (Poonch) and Vinod Bhardwaj (Jammu) got walkover Shubam Pangoj besides in 69-75 kg, Chander Dev beat Vikas Kumar, while in 75-81 kg, Sanjay Sharma beat Aakash Bogia and Avinash Kumar defeated Danish Wani.


Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News