J&K Police rewarded for dedication and hardwork: DGP

JAMMU: Director General of Jammu and Kashmir Police Dilbag Singh on Saturday congratulated the force for receiving the maximum of 126 police medals on the eve of the 71st Republic Day and said it shows their exemplary courage and dedication in the service of the nation.

The tally for the union territory police, thickly involved in counter-terrorist operations in the Kashmir Valley, includes 108 gallantry awards, 16 Police Medal for Meritorious Service and two President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service.

Congratulating the awardees and their families, the DGP in his message said "the awards show the exemplary courage and dedication shown by police personnel in the service of the nation".

He wished them more success and recognition in future.

"During past one year, 157 terrorists, including foreigners, were neutralised. Various terror networks were smashed and Overgroud Workers arrested. Police, along with other security forces, was on forefront stabilizing the situation particularly in south Kashmir," the DGP said.

He said in recognition of the dedication and hard work shown by the officers and personnel in maintenance of law and order, the Union Home Ministry bestowed these honours on the J&K Police.

The President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service have been awarded to Additional Director General of Police, Railway, Deepak Kumar, Inspector General of Police and Director General Prosecution, J&K, Syed Ahfadul Mujtaba.

SSPs Mohammad Haseeb Mughal, Nisha Nathyal, Javid Iqbal Mattoo, Mohan Lal Bhagat, Shoket Hussain Shah and SP Yougal Kumar Manhas are among the President's Police Medal for Meritorious Service awardees.

The Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) that is also deployed in the UT for counter-terror duties apart from being the lead force in anti-Naxal operations continued its streak of getting the largest multi-theatre gallantry medals as it has been decorated with 75 Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG) and a President's Police Medal for Gallantry (posthumously) for CoBRA commando Utpal Rabha.

Among the central forces, the Border Security Force (BSF) got nine PMG followed by Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) 4, and one for the Railway Protection Force (RPF).

Overall, a total of 1,040 police medals have been declared on the eve of Republic Day that includes 93 distinguished service medals and 657 meritorious service medals.

These police bravery awards are declared bi-annually on the eve of Republic Day and Independence Day.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.