Inter Collegiate Badminton, Kho-Kho Tournaments commence

JAMMU: Inter Collegiate Badminton and Kho-Kho Tournaments for men and women, being organized by Directorate of Sports and Physical Education University of Jammu commenced at Gymnasium Hall and Sports Ground respectively.

Vikas Abrol was the chief guest on the occasion, who interacted with all the players of the colleges alongwith Dr Daud Iqbal Baba, Director, Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu.

Others present on the occasion were Ashok Singh Manager, MA Stadium, Ramesh Sharma, Ramesh Mangotra, Gopal Dass, Vikesh Sharma, GDC Jindrah, Sonu, GDC, Paloura, Sunil Kumar, GDC, Akhnoor, Vikram Jamwal, GDC, Hiranagar, Mukesh Kumar, GDC, Ramnagar, Akhil Khajuria, GDC Nowshera, Ravi Kumar, GDC, Sunderbani, Mohammad Ilyas, GDC Mendhar, Balbir Singh Chib, GCET, Dr Pinky Sharma, GCW, Udhampur, Prof Meenkashi Sharma, GDC Jindrah, Goutam Sharma, GDC, Khour, Dr Bhupinder Singh, GDC Hiranagar, Sanjay Verma, Prof Pinki Bakshi, Bashkar Degree College and Vikas Karlopia.

In Badminton (men category), GDC Paloura beat GDC Bhaderwah by 3-1, GDC, Reasi beat GDC Hiranagar by 3-0, ASCOMS beat GDC Akhnoor by 3-0, GDC Nowshera beat TDC Nardani by 3-0, PG Department beat YCET by 3-0, whereas in women category, GDC Akhnoor beat Government College for Women Parade by 2-1 and ASCOMS Sidhra beat GDC Ramnagar by 2-0.

All the matches were officiated by Sat Pal Sharma, SAI Coach, Vikram Saini, SAI Coach, Ravish Vaid, Sanjeev Sharma, Jeevan Lal, Tarvinder Pal Singh, Shivam Sharma, Buneet, Gourav and Rohit.

In Kho-Kho (women category), GDC Ramnagar beat GDC Bishnah by 14 points (15-01) and GDC Samba beat GDC, Kathua by 4 points (9-5), whereas in men category, PG Department beat GDC Billawar by 12 points (18-6), GDC Mahanpur beat GDC Hiranagar by 6 points (18-12) and GDC Jindrah beat GDC Mendhar by 7 points (21-14).

The matches were officiated by Ajay Gupta, Anil Sharma, Dhiraj Sharma, Raman Kalaria, Jagdev Singh, Palbinder Singh, Anil Kumar, Shibal Bhau, Surbhi Avtal, Pooja Sharma, Mohammad Israr and Gagan Kumar.

Meanwhile, in Inter-Collegiate Cricket Tournament for men, GDC Samba defeated GDC Hiranagar by 78 runs, Government Dental College registered win over GDC RS Pura by 6 wickets, GDC Reasi defeated GDC Nowshera by 5 wickets and ASCOMS beat GDC Bishnah by 5 wickets.


Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News