Notification for 1st phase of Lok Sabha polls issued

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission on Monday issued a notification for the first phase of Lok Sabha polls.

Ninety-one Parliamentary constituencies spread over 20 states and Union Territories will go to polls in this phase.

The last date for filing of nominations is 25th of this month and the scrutiny of the nomination papers will be carried out on the 26th.

The last date for withdrawal of nomination papers is 28th March. For the first phase of elections, polling will be held on 11th of next month.

Other constituencies going to polls in this phase are: eight in Uttar Pradesh; five in Uttarakhand; four in Bihar; seven in Maharashtra; five in Assam; four in Odisha; two each in Jammu and Kashmir, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya and West Bengal; and one each in Chhattisgarh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.

In Uttar Pradesh, Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Bijnor, and Gautam Buddh Nagar will go to polls in this phase.

In Assam, notification for the elections in Tezpur, Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur constituencies has been issued.

Election Commission also issued the Notification for all 32 Assembly seats in Sikkim, 60 constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh and Assembly elections for all the 175 Assembly constituencies of Andhra Pradesh.

In Jammu and Kashmir, with the issuance of notification for Jammu -Poonch Lok Sabha constituency, the election process started in the state.

The counting of votes will be taken up on May 23.


Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.