45th Inter-Collegiate Annual Athletic Meet 2018-19 Concluded

JAMMU: The 45th Inter Collegiate Annual Athletic Meet 2018-19 organized by the Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu, Jammu w.e.f. 14th to 16th March, 2019 at the University Sports Stadium concluded with the distribution of medals and trophies to the winners.

On the occasion Dr. Meenakshi Kilam, Registrar, University of Jammu was the Chief Guest, who awarded medals and trophies among the winners.

While addressing the gathering, Dr. Kilam congratulated the participants and winners as well as the Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu for the successful organizing of the 45th Inter Collegiate Annual Athletic Meet 2018-19 and other sports events organized during this session, which provided opportunities to the students for participation in various sports activities.

Earlier, Dr. Daud Iqbal Baba, Director Sports & Physical Education, University of Jammu presented welcome address and report of the Sports activities organized by the Directorate and performance of the Jammu University teams in the various Inter University Sports Tournaments.

Rajesh Sharma, Territory Manager, Bharat Petroleum and Karunesh Gupta, Social activists were the Special Guests, also spoke on the occasion.

An impressive Taekwondo and Penchak Silat demonstration was also presented on the occasion by the players, under the supervision of Gourav Arora.

Other present on the occasion were Kuldeeep Magotra, G.S. Bakshi, Mahesh Sharma Sudhir Singh, Madhu Khajuria, Pawan Singh Bahu, Akash Bhola, Dr. Balwinder Singh, Ashwani Bakshi, Dr. Noor, Prof. Ashok Kumar, P.P.Singh, Angad Singh, Amit Targotra, Dr. Brij Baloria, Ramesh MagotraPhysical Directors of the various colleges, staff and students of the University as well as the Directorate of Sports and Physical Education.

Technical officials who officiated the said athletic meet were Ramesh Sharma, S. Gurcharan Singh, Chamel Singh, S. Harsimran Singh, Nirmal Singh, S. Harvinder Singh, Pawandeep Kour, Harvinderpal Singh, S. Gurbachan Singh & Amit Sharma.

The proceedings of the events were conducted by Tarvinderpal Singh, Drishti Sharma and AqilRasool.

The vote of thanks were presented by Ravish vaid.

Result of Today events:-

200 mtr race (Men):

Gold Medal: Rahul Kumar-GDC Nowshera

Silver: SumitMankotiya-GDC Samba

Bronze: SouravManjotra- GDC, Udhampur

200 mtr race (Women)

Gold Medal: RichaMandla -PG Deptt. JU

Silver: Palavi Devi-GDC Akhnoor

Bronze: AfsanaAnjum- GDC, Mendhar

100 mtr (Men):

Gold Medal: SouravMajotra -GDC Udhampur

Silver: Rahul Kumar-GDC Nowshera

Bronze: Hinan Malik - PG Deptt. JU

100 mtr (Women):

Gold Medal: TayibaAnjum -GCW Parade

Silver: Aakriti Sharma-GDC Billwar

Bronze: AkanshaSabarwal-PG Deptt. JU

4x100 mtr. (Relay) Race (Men)

Gold Medal: Shivam AbishakSangra PG Deptt. JU Javed Henan

Silver: Sukhdev Singh Anil Singh GDC Khour SachinChoudhary Aman Manhas

Bronze Vishal Singh Shubham Sambyal GDC Samba Pankaj Singh SumitMankotiya

4x100 mtr. (Relay) Race (Women)

Gold Medal: Richa Mandle Urma Amin PG Deptt. JU KanchanThappa AkanshaSabarwal

Silver: Chakshu Sharma Shila Devi GDC Jindrah Ramsha Bibi Nazia

Bronze: Malvika Hema GCW Parade Tayiba Diksha

High Jump (Men)

Gold Medal: Susheel Kumar-GDC, Jindrah

Silver: Munish Kumar -GDC Kathua

Bronze: Surjeet Kumar- GDC Billawar & Sudhir Kumar- GDC Kathua

High Jump (Women)

Gold Medal: Shabnam-GDC Reasi

Silver: Samiksha- GCW Parade

Bronze: RichaMandla- PG Deptt. JU

Mukhtyar Ahmed of GDC Poonch and Richa Mandla of PG Deptt. JU were declaredthe best Men & Women Athletes of the 45th Inter Collegiate Annual Athletic Meet 2018-19.

Over all Championship in men section was awarded to GDC Khour and in Women Section PG Department, JU.

From this year, the Directorate of Sports & Physical Education University of Jammu introduced Jammu University Inter-College Overall Champion Trophy, which will be awarded annually to the team,who would score highest points among all the Inter College Tournaments.

The said trophy has been unveiled by Dr. Meenakshi Kilam, Registrar in the presence of all the guests and participants and awarded to PG Department, Jammu University team with 65 points from ten winning Inter Collegiatetrophies and five runners up trophies.

The Championship was organized under the supervision of Dr. Daud Iqbal Baba, Director Sports & Physical Education and managed by Vinod K. Sharma, Raj Kumar Bakshi, Ravish Vaid, Vikas Karlopia, Gagan Kumar, Ashish Kapoor, P.D. Singh, Jai Bharat, Harinderpal Singh, Ashwani Bali, students and staff of the Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News