JU VC declares open 45th Inter-Collegiate Annual Athletic Meet

JAMMU: Prof. Manoj Dhar, Vice Chancellor, University of Jammu today declared open the 45th Inter Collegiate Annual Athletic Meet 2018-19, organized by the Directorate of Sports &Physical Education, University of Jammu at the University Sports Stadium.

Prof. Dhar while addressing the gathering congratulated the participants and organizers and advised the athletes to actively participate in the Sports activities to become physically and mentally fit.

Earlier, Dr. Daud Iqbal Baba Director, Directorate of Sports and Physical Education, University of Jammu in his well address outlined the Sports activities organized by the Directorate of Sports & Physical Education during the session 2018-19.

Dr. Ashutosh Sharma, Dushyat Sharma, Kuldeep Magotra, Rajan Sharma, Rajesh Gill, Suneel Mahajan, Atual Kumar Gupta, Rachna Jamwal, Vikram Gupta, Gourav Gupta and Ramesh Kr. Sharma and Sudesh Kumar were felicitated by the Vice Chancellor for their contribution in the promotion of Sports.

Yoga Demonstration was also presented on the occasion by the students of Directorate of Sports & Physical Education namely Sandeep Sharma, Priya Sharma, Mansi, Stanzin, Priyanaka Sandhu and Bhawna Seth under the supervision of Sanjeev Kumar (Yoga Instructor).

Vice Chancellor also felicitated S. Gurcharan Singh (Athletic Coach), Ananya Sharma (Cricket Player), S. Harinderpal Singh (Boxing Coach) and Sanjeev Kumar (Yoga Instructor) & their trainees. Bhisham Singh (Fencing Coach) and fencers of the Jammu University team which won medals in the All India Inter University Fencing (Men and Women) Championship 2018-19 held at Amritsar namely Aanish Kumar, Gulair Singh, Shubham Sharma, Arun Kumar, Rohit Kumar &Vishvajeet Singh were also felicitated on the occasion.

Akanksha Sabarwal, a student of the Directorate & national fencer was also felicitated for her good performance in the various fencing events.

Technical officials who officiating the events were  Ramesh Kumar Sharma (Retd. SAI Coach), S. Gurcharn Singh, Chamel Singh, Nirmal Singh, Harsimran Singh, Pawandeep Kour, S. Gurbachan Singh, S. Harvinder Singh, Amit Sharma & S. Harvinder Pal Singh.

Before the start of the proceedings of opening ceremony, a tribute was paid to Late Ritu Sharma, a student of M.P.Ed. semester 2nd by the Vice Chancellor, Registrar and other officers / officials of the University of Jammu on her untimely demise on 10th March, 2019.

The proceeding of the event and vote of thanks were presented by Dr. Komal Nagar, I/c Assistant Director. It is pertinent to mention here that around 400 athletes from the Colleges of the Jammu Province affiliated with the University of Jammu are participating in 3 days said athletic meet.

The event was managed by the students and staff of the Directorate of Sports & Physical Education, University of Jammu.

Prominent among others Dr. Meenakshi Kilam, Registrar, Prof. Kulwant Singh Controller of Examinations, Prof. Shalender Singh Jamwal, Dean Students Welfare, Prof. Arti Bakshi, Prof. Vinod Sharma Director Poonch Campus, Prof. Yog Raj Sharma, Dr. Dharminder Magotra (Joint Registrar Finance), Suresh Sharma, Executive Engineer, Dr. Neeraj Sharma (Spl. Secy to the Vice Chancellor), Akash Bhola (AEE), Dr. Imran Farooq, Amit Targotra, Ramesh Sharma, Dr. Brij Baloria, Ramesh Magotra and Physical Directors of the various colleges, sportspersons and members from the civil society were also present on the occasion.

Result of today events:

Event : 10,000 mt. Race (Men)

Gold Medal: Mukhtar Ahmed- GDC Poonch

Silver: Susheel Kumar - GDC Udhampur

Bronze: Akshay Sharma- GDC, Udhampur

Event : 800 mt. (Men)

Gold Medal: Mohd. Anjum - GDC Billawar

Silver: Ajay Kumar - GDC Khour

Bronze: Sunil Manhas- GDC, Khour

Event : 800 mt. Race (Women)

Gold Medal: Bhwani Devi - GDC Reasi

Silver: Deepika Gupta- PG Deptt. JU

Bronze: Toshi Devi- GCW, Kathua

Javelin (Men)

Gold Medal: Arun Kumar - GDC Jindrah

Silver: Balber Singh - GDC Khour.

Bronze: Manjeet Kotwal- PG Deptt. JU

Javelin (Women)

Gold Medal: Nidhi Sambhyal - PG Deptt. JU

Silver: Sapna Devi - GCW Udhampur

Bronze: Harmanpreet Kour - PG Deptt. JU

Long Jump (Men)

Gold Medal: Mohd. Javeed- PG Deptt. JU

Silver: Anil Singh - GDC Khour

Bronze: Pankaj Singh - GDC Samba

Long Jump (Women)

Gold Medal: Richa Mandla- PG Deptt. JU

Silver: Mamta Choudhary- GDC Samba

Bronze: Anju Bala - GCWKathua

Shot Put (Men)

Gold Medal: Sourav Sharma- GDC, Reasi

Silver: Dekshesh Manhas- GDC Khour

Bronze: Anju Singh Andotra- PG Deptt. JU

Shot Put (Women)

Gold Medal: Vishaka Rajput- GCW, Gandhi Nagar

Silver: Ayesha Tabassum- PG Deptt. JU

Bronze: Priya Sharma- PG Deptt. JU

Tomorrow the events will start at 9.00 a.m.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News