2019 brings 3 Padma Shri Awards for J&K

The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service). The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.

The Padma Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year. The nomination process is open to the public. Even self-nomination can be made.

Today, President Ram Nath Kovind conferred the Padma Shri awards to 56 personalities. Vice President Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi were also present for the event at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

50,000 nominations were received for the 2019 awards against 2200 in 2014. While 112 personalities were named for the awards, 56 were awarded on Monday.


The Government of India instituted Padma Awards in the year 1954 and these are announced every year on the occasion of Republic Day except for brief interruption(s) during the years 1978 and 1979 and 1993 to 1997.

The award is given in three categories, namely,

Padma Vibhushan for exceptional and distinguished service;

Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of a high order; and

Padma Shri for distinguished service

It is a matter of great pride that three people from J&K won the Padma Shri Award this year. The winners include Narsingh Dev Jamwal, Sahitya Akademi award winning Dogri poet and Playwright, Fayaz Ahmad Jan, a national award-winning exponent of traditional Kashmiri art form-Papier Mache and Tsering Norboo, Ladakh based physician treating patients in such difficult terrain for over 50 years with specialization in altitude medicine.

Last year, the Padma Award from Jammu and Kashmir was conferred on Pran Kishore Kaul, famous writer and theatre director. He is widely known for his DD RV serial "Gul Gulshan Gulfaam"

Narsingh Dev Jamwal, born in the 1930s in Bhalwal, Jammu has authored 48 books including the Sahitya Akademi Award-winning novel Sanjhi Dharti Bakhle Mahnu. He completed his matriculation in 1945 and joined the Jammu & Kashmir Police in 1953. He also holds a master's degree in Dogri from Jammu University. He is known for his contribution to Indian theatre as a playwright.

Fayaz Ahmad Jan hails from Hassanabad area of Srinagar district. He is famous for his work in Papier-mâché. Fayaz has a long-standing dedicated career of three decades. Fayaz has participated in various workshops, held in the United States, Brazil, France, Sweden, Italy, Singapore, Oman, Dubai, Iran and Kyrgyzstan. He makes various different products ranging from showpieces, bowls, and lamps to paintings. His love for Papier-mâché has earned him the fourth highest civilian award in the country.

Dr Tsering Norboo, a well known retired surgeon of Ladakh is famous for his dedicated service towards the people of Ladakh. He has served 51 years in the health department. He has received Rural Surgeon award by the Government of India. He was born in 1941 and was brought up in Olthangpa family, Nimmo. He completed his primary education from Government Primary School Nimo and passed matriculation from Government High School, Leh in 1957. Later, he pursued his B.Sc from Sri Pratap College.  And finally n 1959, he joined Government Medical College Srinagar for MBBS.  His dedication towards service along with immense medical expertise is a great example and an encouragement for generations to come.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Hardeep Bali