Dr Jitendra Singh presents National e-Governance awards

NEW DELHI: Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER), MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh today presented "National e-Governance Awards" to the Ministries / Departments of the Government of India which had excelled in the use of e-office and e-file in carrying out the day-to-day office work.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr Jitendra Singh said, soon after this government took over in 2014, Prime Minister Narendra Modi placed before us the target of "maximum governance, minimum government", accompanied by increased transparency and citizen participation. Looking back the last five years, he said, the Department of ARPG and the Ministry of Personnel can feel vindicated for having moved in this direction on a fast-track and having covered several significant landmarks during this journey of five years.

Under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Dr Jitendra Singh said, there was optimum utilization of the latest technology with e-office being the nucleus of Digital Workplace Solution that replaces the physical files and documents with an efficient electronic system. This not only has eliminated red-tapism, expedited the file disposal time, but has also brought in more of transparency as well as accessibility by the common citizen.

Dr Jitendra Singh expressed satisfaction that within a short period of time, as many as 75 Ministries / Departments in the Government of India are actively using the e-office platform. The advantages of the e-office include transparency and accountability, quick disposal of files, instant file exchange and maintaining knowledge repository. Within a short span of time, as many as 10,44,935 number of active e-files are currently in use.

Dr Jitendra Singh also referred to other electronic and hi-tech initiatives of the Modi Government, including introduction of 24-hour RTI Portal, Pension Portal, e-Service Book, etc.

The Ministries / Departments which received the National e-Governance Awards today included Ministry of Heavy Industries, Ministry Tribal Affairs, Ministry of Corporate Affairs, Department of Expenditure, Ministry of Civil Aviation, Ministry of Mines, NITI Aayog, Inter-State Council Secretariat and Department of Health Research.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.