State Boxing meet begins

JAMMU: Organised by the J&K Amateur Boxing Association, the State Boxing Championship started today at Boxing ring of the MA Stadium, here.

"Sponsored by the J&K State Sports Council (JKSSC), the event hosts around 170 boxers from all over the state with a good number of boxers from Jammu, Poonch, Leh, Kargil, Samba, Rajouri, Udhampur and Srinagar," informed general secretary of the Association, Rajan Sharma.

The opening day witnessed preliminary round of the competition in different weight categories.

The Results:

Preliminary Round: 49 kg: Manshu Mehra, Mohd. Arif and Mukesh Kumar won their bouts. 56 kg: Sajan Kumar, Rohit Chib, Shubham, Naveen Sharma and Sandeep Rakwal emerged winners. 60 kg: Hardesh Singh, Nisar Hussein, Yash Pal winners. 64 kg: Vinod Bhardwaj, Superman Dhar, Rahul Sharma winners. 69 kg: Ricky Kumar, Rigzen, Vinay Pratap, Dhani Dhar, Vikas Kumar, Phunsug and Sohail Ahmed won bouts. 75 kg: Mohd Wassem bt Mohd. Asif.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News