Wrestling team named for Nationals

JAMMU: A 21-member State Wrestling team, including three women wrestlers, finalised by the J&K Wrestling Association for the upcoming 18th Boys Free Style and Greco Roman Style and 21st Women Junior National Wrestling Championship to be held at Dindayal Upadhyay Indoor Stadium, Surat in Gujarat from February one to February four.

The team shall depart for the venue tomorrow along with officials. Earlier, the selected team underwent screening conducted by the senior officers of the J&K State Sports Council, including Chief Sports Officer (CSO), Abdul Qayoom and Divisional Sports Officer (DSO), Ravi Singh as also Manager Indoor Complex, Satish Gupta at MA Stadium, here today.

Among those, who were present included Dheeraj Sharma, Swarn Lal (joint secretary), Raju Sharma (treasurer), Jai Bharat, Sahil Sharma, Ravinder Kumar (all coachs) and Raj Kumar (senior player).

The Team: Men: Free Style: Jarnail Singh (57 kg), Amit Singh (65 kg), Abhay Sharma (70 kg), Lovekesh Singh (74 kg), Abhishek Manhas( 79 kg), Ajay Chib (86 kg), Mohd Hussain (92 kg), Sanjay Singh (97 kg), Liyakat Ali (125 kg). Greco Roman: Amit Singh (55 kg), Amanjeet Singh (60 kg), Vishal Chouhdary (63 kg), Aman Dogra (67 kg), Rajinder Singh (72 kg), Arun Sharma (77 kg), Nadeem Ahmed (82 kg), Gagan Sharma (87 kg), Muzafar Hussain (130 kg). Women: Tanushi Choudhary (50 kg), Smile Jasrotia (62 kg), Kusum Rani (72 kg).

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News