Param FC wins inaugural tie of Christmas Gold Cup

JAMMU: Param Football Club won the inaugural match of the 12th Christmas Gold Cup Football Tournament, organised by All J&K Christian Welfare Association, at GGM Science College ground, here today.

The formidable side of Param FC made it a 2-1 win against Kashmir based side of Kanwal Sports Anantnag to qualify for the next round of the competition.

The visiting side of Anantnag took the first lead to the surprise of Param FC, netting the ball in the 16th minute through Aufeeq. They well defended the lead in the first half of the game.

Entering into the second half of the play with change in the strategy, the Param FC initiated some good move but could not convert their attacks into goal in the presence of a strong defence line by the Kanwal Sports who by then had turned defensive.

The Param FC failed in their pursuance to break the strong protection on the goal post. It was only in the 52nd minute that success came their way when Tanveer brought in the equaliser.

Running on high moral, the Param FC launched a more vigorous attack and earned a lead in the 65th minute with Gagan headed the ball right into the net to the jubilation of the crowd. In the remaining five minutes of the play, Kanwal Sports could bring any change on the scoreboard.

The match officiated by the technical penal comprising Dheeraj Meenia, Rocky Sharma, Ajay Singh and Ricky Kumar.

The event was declared open by the chief guest, Mayor Jammu, Chander Mohan Gupta, who was the chief guest. He interacted with the teams and expressed his happiness over a small community of Christians organising a mega sports event in the state.

Among other distinguished gathering were Zamir Thakur (president JKFA), Surinder Singh Bunty (Treasurer JKFA), Fayaz Sofi (president DFA Srinagar), Sheikh Mehmood (president DFA Jammu), Kuldeep Singh (vice president Kathua Zone), Ramesh Chander (vice president Jammu Zone), Abdul Majid Kakroo (international player), Anil Masoorn (Corporator), Rama Thakyal (Corporator), SM Gill (president All J&K Christian Welfare Association), David Masih, Yousuf Don, Waris Gill, Narinder Gupta, Ravi Kumar, Rajesh Sumbria, Harbans Lal, Bharat Bhushan, Pamma, Charan Dass and Mohinder Kalsi.

TOMORROW'S FIXTURE: DFA Poonch V/s Hero FC at 1 pm at GGM Science College; Sainik Colony V/s Sayed Taj-u-Din at 1 pm at Mini Stadium Parade; J&K Bank Academy V/s DFA Kathua at 3 pm GGM Science College; NGR V/s SFA at 3 pm at Mini Stadium, Parade.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News