Raghav lifts men's singles title in State Badminton

JAMMU: Beating Vipul Saini in straight close straight sets of 21-19, 21-17, Raghav Dogra lifted the men's singles title in the 45th State Badminton Championship held under the banner of J&K Badminton Association (JKBA) at Indoor Complex, MA Stadium, here today.

The women's singles title went to Rashmi Kashyap, who beat Poorvi Singh 21-16, 21-19 in the final. However, Rashmi lost to Poorvi Singh 14-21, 21-15, 18-21 in under-19 title clash. In women's doubles event, the pair of Rashmi anad Poorvi defeated Bhavini and Unnati 21-15, 21-18.

The duo of Raghav and Rupal trounced Vipul and Diksha 2-1 (21-17, 19-21, 21-19) in a tough match to win the mixed doubles trophy.

In under-19 boys singles final, Aesh Goswami defeated Nakul Vaid 21-14, 21-16. The under-19 boys double final won by the duo of Yashdeep and Sehdev, who beat Dheeraj and Prajwal 21-14, 14-21, 21-15.

Meanwhile, the men's doubles final could not be held because of failure of power supply at the Indoor Hall. The organisers had to give away the prizes in the lights of their mobile sets. It was a long pending demand from the sports association for alternate power supply (generator set) but the J&K State Sports Council has failed to do anything in this regard.

Other Results (Final): U-17 boys singles: Aesh Goswami bt Sehdev Singh 21-11, 21-09. U-17 boys doubles: Yashdeep and Sehdev bt Prajwal and Dheeraj 21-14, 14-21, 21-15. U-17 girls singles: Poorvi Singh bt Rashmi Kashyap 21-23, 21-12, 21-17. U-17 girls doubles: Unnati and Poorvi bt Rashmi and Pranjal 21-19, 21-17. U-15 boys' singles: Aesh Goswami bt Sidharth 21-12, 21-15. U-15 boys doubles: Ayush and Dheeraj bt Mridul and Sidharth 21-13, 19-21, 23-21. U-15 girls' singles: Unnati Jaral bt Sambhavi Rajput 21-17, 21-09. U-13 boys' singles: Sarthak Jain bt Bhavdeep Singh 21-12, 21-16. U-13 boys doubles: Sarthak and Bhavdeep bt Udhyan and Vaibhav Mehta 21-15, 21-18. U-13 girls singles: Snowy Goswami bt Skiedeep Kour 21-18, 21-17. U-10 boys singles: Gopesh Singh bt Harsh Sharma 22-20, 21-14. U-10 girls singles: Suhani Sharma got walkover Snowy Goswami.

Former Minister, Chander Parkash Ganga was chief guest, who witnessed the men's finals and gave away the prizes. He encouraged the participants. Among the distinguished gathering were Chairman of the JKBA, Dr OD Sharma; general secretary, Balbir Jamwal; Divisional Sports Officer of JKSSC, Ravi Singh; Satish Gupta, Dushyant Sharma, Iftikhar Hussain Wani, Rahul Sharma, Sat Pal Sharma, Vikram Saini, Sukhdev Singh and Vivek Mehta as also Amir Islam.

Later, general secretary of the Association, Balbir Jamwal expressed his thanks to the participants, officials and JKSSC for the support.

Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News