Rajya Sabha members can now speak Dogri in The House, Naidu says

Rajya Sabha Secretariat arranges for simultaneous interpretation facility for Dogri

NEW DELHI: Rajya Sabha MPs from Jammu will be able to speak in the House in their native language, that is Dogri, from the forthcoming Monsoon Session of Parliament, Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu said today.

The Rajya Sabha Secretariat has arranged for simultaneous interpretation facility for Dogri, as Naidu formally inducted the interpreters for the language today.

Naidu said: "I have always felt that mother tongue is the natural medium to convey our feelings and thoughts without any retention. In a multilingual setting such as Parliament, members must not feel handicapped or inferior to others due to language constraints."

"That's why I was keen to have simultaneous interpretation facility for all the 22 Scheduled languages. I am glad this is becoming a reality from the coming Monsoon Session," he added.

From this Monsoon Session, RS MPs will be able to speak in any of the 22 Indian languages listed in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution.

The Rajya Sabha Secretariat has arranged for simultaneous interpretation facility for more languages - Kashmiri, Konkani, Santhali and Sindhi.

Of the 22 scheduled languages, Rajya Sabha has earlier established Simultaneous Interpretation Service for 12 languages -- Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

For five languages - Bodo, Maithili, Manipuri, Marathi and Nepali, interpreters of Lok Sabha are being deployed.

An official said that the Rajya Sabha Secretariat has made "special efforts" to identify, select and train interpreters in these five languages and took help of various universities and missions of the states in New Delhi.


Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News