Karnataka dominates in Visually Challenged Climbing meet

POONCH: Karnataka almost completely dominated the 1st IMF National Sport Climbing Competition for Visually Challenged making a clean sweep in the girls' and securing a gold in the boys category.

Those visually challenged climbers from J&K also performed well winning a silver and a bronze medal in the boys category. Organised by Mountaineering Association of J&K under the aegis of Indian Mountaineering Foundation (IMF), New Delhi, the inaugural edition of the competition for witnessed a galaxy of international technical officials and other dignitaries of the game converging on Jammu to be a part of this unique national event which concluded at Sprawling Buds ICSE School, here.

In the girls category, Sumitha, Mala Kolkar and Kavya NR of Kanataka bagged the first three positions thereby given away cash prizes of Rs. 7000, Rs. 5000 and Rs.3000 respectively. Similarly, in boys event, Nandeesha Janardhan of Karnataka, Waseem Akram and Mohd. Azam, both of J&K, clinched gold, silver and bronze medals carrying cash prize of Rs. 7000 , Rs.5000 and Rs.3000 respectively.

Earlier, Riya Bhagat of J&K had raised vision of a medal by topping the 40 ft. high fibre glass wall in the semifinals. But the diminutive Riya just could not repeat her performance in the final and finished at fourth place.

Two other J&K girls, Bhumika Chib and Mehak, who had also qualified for the final round, eventually secured the seventh and eighth place respectively.

Whereas the climbers, who secured fifth and seventh positions in the girls as well as boys category were awarded cash prizes of Rs.500 each. Remaining finalists in both the categories were also given away suitable prizes.

Due to financial constraints, the Association had to regret to make it a very humble event. However, led by the Chairman, IMF North Zone Committee, S. Bhattacharjee and substantially supported by Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Jammu and Pallav Dass of West Bengal and the support given by technical officials including international judges Irani Saikia from Assam, Lipika Bishwas from West Bengal, Amit Sharma and Mitra Ghosh from Delhi and the local officials including Shawetica Khajuria, Everester Ram Sigh, Narinder Singh, Sonam Sidharth, Manik Slathia, Himani Choudhary, Syed Abdul Mohsin, Sakshi Magotra and Sunil Chakharia, the competition was organized successfully.


Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.


Jammu Links News