Five Indian cricketers in ICC’s Team of Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2018

Skipper Prithvi Shaw, batsman Shubman Gill and three other Indians feature in ICC’s Team of Under-19 Cricket World Cup

MUMBAI: As many as five players from the victorious Indian cricket team have been named in the ICC's Team of Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2018, post their record fourth title win on Saturday.

India created history by becoming the first country to win ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup for the fourth time, when they crushed Australia by eight wickets in yet another dominant show, at Mount Maunganui in Tauranga, New Zealand.

India U-19 captain Prithvi Shaw, whose team remained unbeaten in the tournament, however, was not awarded the captaincy, which was given to South Africa's Raynard van Tonder. His compatriot Wandile Makwetu was named the wicketkeeper.

"Van Tonder, who aggregated 348 runs in six matches including a highest score of 143 against Kenya, was selected to lead ahead of other captains for his better cricket acumen," the ICC said in a release.

The top three spots have been awarded to the dominating Indian trio of Shaw, Manjot Kalra and Shubman Gill. While Kalra emerged hero of India's win with a fabulous 101* in the final, Gill had scores of 63, 90*, 86, 102* and 31 as he amassed 372 runs.

Gill finished second behind West Indies' Alick Athanaze, who topped the batting charts with 418 runs in six matches. Athanaze, however, was named 12th man.

Anukul Roy, who finished with most wickets in the U-19 World Cup, is also in the ICC's team with young speedster Kamlesh Nagarkoti being the fifth Indian player.

South Africa, who finished fifth, have another player in Gerald Coetzee featuring in the eleven.

Australia, who did make it to the final, do not have any of their players in the ICC team.

Pakistan's lanky left-handed pacer Shaheen Afridi found a place thanks to his 12 wickets in the tournament.

Finn Allen from New Zealand and Afghanistan's Qais Ahmed are the other remaining players.

ICC Team of U-19 World Cup 2018:

Prithvi Shaw (India) -261 runs

Manjot Kalra (India) - 252 runs

Shubman Gill (India) - 372 runs

Finn Allen (New Zealand) - 338 runs

Raynard van Tonder (South Africa, captain) - 348 runs

Wandile Makwetu (wicket-keeper) (South Africa) - 184 runs and 11 dismissals (all catches)

Anukul Roy (India) - 14 wickets

Kamlesh Nagarkoti (India)- 9 wickets

Gerald Coetzee (South Africa) - 8 wickets

Qais Ahmad (Afghanistan) - 14 wickets

Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan) - 12 wickets

12th man: Alick Athanaze (West Indies) - 418 runs


Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.