100 open-sky schools to get buildings under Project 'Tameer': Dr. Shahid Iqbal Choudhary

RAJOURI: District administration has initiated a project for construction of buildings for 100 schools in district functioning without building and often facing closure due to bad weather. In an attempt to provide enabling atmosphere for education in remote and hilly areas 100 schools will constructed in 6 months under convergence of various schemes of different departments.

A District Level Coordination Committee headed by the DDC and comprised of officers from departments of Education, Rural Development, Revenue, PHE and Panchayats has been constituted for weekly monitoring of progress and resolving local issued for constructions. SDMs will supervise construction which is being done through Rural Development Department. Education Department has sponsored 45-50% funding for the project while remaining funds are being provided under convergence of various schemes. These 100 schools will be constructed at an estimated cost of Rs 9 Cr against required funding of Rs 12 Cr out of which education department will provide Rs 4.53 Cr.

The zone wise schools selected for construction of buildings include 3 in Rajnagar zone, 10 in Thanamandi, 4 in Kalakote, 20 in Koteranka, 5 in Moughla, 3 in Doongi, 14 in Darhal, 03 in Dandesar, 09 in Manjakote, 01 in Nowshera, 1 in Lower Hathal, 9 in Peeri, 9 in Baljarallan and 9 in Khwas zone. These schools have a total enrolment Copied from Jammu links news of 3181 during current year and construction of buildings the enrolment, especially of girl students is expected to nearly double.

In entire district there are 163 schools without building out of which 100 selected for construction of buildings include 40 located in Rajouri constituency, 40 in Darhal constituency, 14 in Kalakote constituency and 06 in Nowshera constituency. Schools with enrollment of 20 and above out of 163 building-less schools have been selected for the project to provide buildings this fiscal under convergence of schemes. An independent inter-departmental engineering team will inspect schools for quality of construction. Remaining 63 schools with enrollment below 20 and without school buildings will be taken up during second phase of project.

The meeting to launch the project was attended by Asstt Commissioner Development, CEO, SDMs of Koteranka, Thanamandi, Kalakote, Nowshera and Sunderbani, ExEn REW, Tehsildars, BDOs, AEEs, ZEOs, ZEPOs, AEs and engineering staff of REW.


Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.