Benia Min of JKP bags Kawa (Udhampur) Dangal title

UDHAMPUR: Wrestler Benia Min of J&K Police lifted the 9th Annual Kawa (Udhampur) Kesari Dangal title defeating Maana of Punjab Police in the main bout that lasted for 21 minutes at Government High School Kawa, here.

Dangal was organised by Kawa Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association under the overall supervision of President of the Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma and Durga Dass Padha. In all, 62 bouts were decided in this day-long dangal.

Former Minister and MLA Udhampur, Pawan Kumar Gupta was chief guest, who distributed cash prizes among the wrestlers. Raj Kumar Buccha and Sunil Badyal were the guests of honour.

Winner of the main bout Benia Min was awarded Rs 31,000 cash prize while runners-up, Maana got Rs 20,000.
The second main bout between Dinesh of Zirkapur (Chandigarh) and Ajay Sharma of Landen Power House, Udhampur ended in a draw resulting into award of Rs 11,000 each. Another second bout also ended in a draw between Ishaq Ahmed (Lallu) of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu and Pankaj Rana of Navy of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi.

Members and technical officials who helped for the conduct of dangal included Dugra Dass Padha, Rajinder Singh Katoch, Yov Raj Singh Katoch, Hukam Chand Numberdar, Sat Paul Sharma, Kewal Khajuria, Sudesh Numberdar, Krishan Lal Verma, Madan Lal Sharma (Retd. Headmaster), Vijay Kumar Sharma, Shekhar Sharma, Gurmeet Singh, Raj Mohd., Basant Ram Numberdar, Om Parkash Verma, Krishan Lal Verma, Sham Lal, Vachitru, Sudesh Kumar Sharma.

Other Results: Roshan Lal Sharma of J&K Police beat Javed Khan of Nargada, Babba of Kot Bhawal beat Mohanu of Delhi, Vijay of Bai-Bajaltha beat Akram of Chouadi, Bobari of Sarore beat Ashish of Delhi, Amir Khan of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu beat Yov raj of Zarikapur (Chandigarh), Shera of Ghazibad (U.P) beat Nisar of Jammu, Salman of Chopra Shop Udhampur beat Ankit of Delhi, Jamat Ali of Jatti beat Natin of UP, Robbin of Delhi beat Vishal of Kawa, Munner Khan of Nagrota beat Chinni of Banaras, Chain Singh of Reasi beat Bhati of Ghazibad and Bajad Gujjar of U.P beat Surjit Singh of Reasi.


Fast, accurate and updated real time local news is available on your smartphone and tablet.